top of page

Where have I been and where am I going?

I thought it was about time that I gave an update on how my actual research has been going over the past several months before I head away on holidays! Currently I am eight months into my PhD and the time has gone so quickly I can't believe it. Up until now a lot of my work has been done from behind a computer screen but I'm finally getting to the stage where I will be getting out into the field and getting to enjoy the best part of research, animal watching.

Image provided by John McLaughlin, Fota Wildlife Park

To start off with, there is a lot more paperwork than expected in the first few months of the project. When you think about it, it makes sense that you would need to fill out all the necessary health and safety, financial and preparation forms for a large-scale project that is to last for four years. I think so far one of the areas I have spent the most time on are the ethics applications that I needed to submit to UCC's Animal Ethics and Experimentation Committee (AEEC).


To anyone that has never gone through an ethical approval process, I beg you, please, please, please, start it sooner rather than later because these things do not pass quickly. Unless you are some sort of wizard and can magically fill out exactly what every reviewer wants on the forms, you will be going through several rounds of questions and responses. I went through three rounds before getting approval for four of my five projects. My fifth involves some methods that I need special licencing for, so is currently on hold. I do have to say a big thank you to the members of the AEEC that I had one to one meetings with, as they helped me massively in understanding the process and what was needed from me information wise.

So what's the lesson?! Ask for help! In any of these situations if it's something new to you, especially with applications or processes. Don't be afraid to ask for help. Your supervisors, other staff, more senior research students, even the members of whatever committee you are applying to, more often than not, people are willing to help!


Moving on, I think some of the most fun I've had in the past few months have been when I got the opportunity to do some presentations and help out with undergrad students. I've always enjoyed teaching people and I've been able to help my supervisors this year with the animal behaviour module taught to undergrads. I got to spend the day in Fota for a field trip talking to the undergrads and sharing stuff that I had learned since I did the same module.

Photo provided by John McLaughlin, Fota Wildlife Park

I've also been able to go down to Fota and speak with the rangers and present my work to them. Getting their opinions on what I would like to do over the next several years helps me to develop the best possible methods for my studies. The last presentation I had some fun with was giving a guest talk at an online seminar, organised by the LIVE Project, an eco-museum project between Ireland and Wales looking to promote coastal communities' resources and habitats.


Other than this, I've spent a lot of my time reading papers and books to get up to date on the research conducted over the past few years. As plenty of my lecturers said while I was an undergrad, "You read for your degree". So get reading!


Currently, I'm waiting on licencing applications from the National Parks and Wildlife Services to allow me to conduct my research on Natterjack toads (Epidalea calamita). These licences will allow me to move through the animal habitats, take photos and videos and tag the toads with radio-frequency devices to help keep track of their movements.


Just a nice photo I got on a sunny day at Ballycotton

Going forward over the next couple of months I have a few goals in mind. The most important thing is I want to get out into the field and start to actually collect some data! Gotta love some data. Most of the days collecting data will be spent in Fota Wildlife Park but I'll also hopefully get a few opportunities to head down to Kerry to go trawling through Natterjack breeding ponds collecting eggs with Fota's staff. Then I can do some trial runs with my radio-frequency tags and DNA swabs and make all of my mistakes this year so I can have absolutely perfect methods next year... Ha...


I'm also really looking forward to attending some conferences over the Summer and beginning to network with peers to build up my contacts and share my work. Currently there are two conferences organised by the British and Irish Association of Zoos and Aquariums (BIAZA) in June and July respectively. I have my ticket bought for the conference in London and plan on going to the one in Dublin too, so if you're thinking of going I might see you there!


As always, if you have any questions then please feel free to message me or email me (danielmoloney@ucc.ie) and I'd love to hear what you think of what I get up to, especially if you're having some similar experiences and want to compare notes.



bottom of page